Film und Medien Stiftung NRWNewsNews„1001 Grams“ is the Norwegian Oscar candidate

„1001 Grams“ is the Norwegian Oscar candidate

  • Bent Hamer’s „1001 Grams“ is being submitted for the 87th Oscars
  • The producer is Cologne’s Pandora Filmproduktion / Tragicomedy partly shot in NRW
  • Oscar nominations on 15 January, 2015, Oscar awards ceremony on 22 February, 2015

The Norwegian candidate for the best foreign language feature film is the production „1001 Gram“ by Bent Hamer, which has now been submitted to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

„Congratulations to the director Bent Hamer and Cologne’s Pandora“, says Petra Müller, CEO of the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW. „We are pleased that, following ‚Beloved Sisters’, ‚1001 Grams‘ is now the second production backed by the Filmstiftung to be in with a chance at the next Oscar awards ceremony. We wish lots of luck for the nomination!“

Participation in a seminar in Paris on the actual weight of the Norwegian kilo leads the scientist Marie to reassess her own measurement of disappointment, grief and, not least, love. „1001 Grams“ is a tragicomedy by the Norwegian director Bent Hamer („Kitchen Stories“, „O’Horten“), with Ane Dahl Torp, Laurent Stocker and Stein Winge in the leads. The dramedy was produced by Cologne’s Pandora Filmproduktion in co-production with BulBul Film (Norway) and Slot Machine (France) in association with ZDF/Arte.

The Film- und Medienstiftung NRW backed the project with 370,000 Euros, and support for the film also came from the Norwegian Film Institute. 12 of a total 39 shooting days were held in Cologne and surroundinngs, with other location shooting in Oslo and Paris.

„1001 Grams“ has been invited to the 39th Toronto International Film Festival and will celebrate its world premiere there  on Sunday evening in the „Masters“ sidebar.

The German Oscar entry was only announced last week: „Beloved Sisters“ („Die geliebten Schwestern“) by Dominik Graf will represent Germany at the Oscars. The nominations for the  87th Oscars will be announced on 15 January, 2015, with the awards ceremony then following  on 22 February, 2015.