Film und Medien Stiftung NRWNewsPressNRW at the International Emmys 2015

NRW at the International Emmys 2015

  • NRW delegation at the 2015 International Emmy World Television Festival
  • Actresses: Anke Engelke and Ruby O. Fee
  • Producers: Leopold Hoesch, Gerda Müller, Sam Davis, Philip Borbély, and others
  • Broadcaster representatives: Jörg Graf, Claude Schmit, Michael Loeb, Hans Demmel
  • Organisers: State of NRW, Landesanstalt für Medien, and Film- und Medienstiftung NRW

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will be awarding the 43rd International Emmys to the world’s best TV programmes during the Emmy World Television Festival in the coming week. Over 700 TV experts from 60 different nations are expected again this year in New York for the festival (21.-22.11.) and the awards ceremony (23.11.). The host is the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences with its president and CEO Bruce Paisner.

As the leading German TV hub, NRW has had a presence at the TV festival since 2009 and sends a delegation of TV practitioners each year. This year sees the following participants: the NRW producers Leopold Hoesch (Broadview TV, „Nowitzki – The Perfect Shot"), Sam Davis (Rowboat, „Das Wunder von Kärnten"), Gerda Müller (Bantry Bay, „Weinberg"), Philip Borbély and Bastie Griese (MMC Studios Cologne) as well as  Jörg Graf (RTL Deutschland Media Group), Claude Schmit (Super RTL), Michael Loeb (WDR Mediagroup) and Hans Demmel (n-tv). In addition, Matthijs Wouter Knol of the Berlinale’s European Film Market (EFM) will be attending. The Film- und Medienstiftung NRW was the partner of the first edition of the ¨Drama Series Days¨ which were held during the EFM in 2015.

The delegation will also include the actress Anke Engelke who, more than any other, embodies  the NRW entertainment industry and the promising actress Ruby O. Fee („Als wir träumten“, „Zazy“).

Digital formats will be integrated into the ceremony of the International Emmys for the very first time this year. They were previously honoured at the Digital Emmys during spring’s miptv. Markus Hündgen and Dimitrios Argirakos (both from the European Web Video Academy, Düsseldorf) will both be present in New York from this sector.

The NRW presentation will be organised by the State of NRW in collaboration with the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, represented in New York by CEO  Petra Müller, and the Landesanstalt für Medien (LfM).

Last year saw the ZDF three-parter „Generation War“ („Unsere Mütter, unsere Väter") by Philipp Kadelbach winning the prize in the category for TV Movie/Mini-Series. The Film- und Medienstiftung NRW backed the production with 900,000 Euros.

The media region of NRW and the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences have been cooperating since 2009. Apart from the annual visit by a NRW delegation to the Emmy Festival, each summer also sees the Emmy Ambassador Leopold Hoesch organising Emmy Judgings in Cologne.