The Film- und Medienstiftung NRW is involved in the following regional, national and international initiatives and awards either as a member or through a long-term cooperation:

  • Filmforum NRW e.V.: Nine partners have been making use of the auditorium of the Filmforum NRW in the Museum Ludwig since January 2006 through the model of a forum that is unique in Germany and transcends the city’s boundaries. Numerous thematic seasons, film festivals and premieres as well as lectures and discussions have found a venue at the Filmforum. The partners have jointly succeeded in establishing the Filmforum as a centre for film history and contemporary film culture. The individual partners are themselves responsible for the content and financing of all the events.
  • International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (International Emmy Awards): The International Emmy Awards in New York are one of the most important international television awards. Awards for the best TV programmes and digital formats produced outside of the USA as well as non-English language US primetime programmes are handed out each year. The presentation during the prestigious Emmy Awards ceremony is considered to be one of the most important global industry gatherings. The Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia and the media watchdog LfM have been cooperating with the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences since 2009. As the leading German TV hub, the media region of NRW sends a NRW delegation to New York for the festival, awards ceremony and the Annual NRW Rendez-vous in order to bolster the transatlantic dialogue and collaboration between German and international TV practitioners.
  • Médaille Charlemagne e.V.: The Médaille Charlemagne pour les médias européens (Charles Medal for the European Media) is a European media award. The distinction goes to a personality or institutions who has made a unique contribution, within the field of media, to the process of European unification and the creation of a European identity. The prize is awarded by the eponymous association which counts the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW among its members.