Film und Medien Stiftung NRWNewsNewsShooting Stars 2021: Online programme from 23-25 February

Shooting Stars 2021: Online programme from 23-25 February

The ten European Shooting Stars will be introduced by a 3 day programme of promotion and networking activities, including talks covering all aspects of casting, from 23-25 February in advance of the digital industry programme presented by the Berlinale/EFM.

The Kick Off Show for press, industry and public on Wednesday, 24 February, is moderated by Edith Bowman. Special guests are Mariette Rissenbeek (Berlin International Film Festival), alumni Shooting Stars Pilou Asbaek ("Ben Hur", "Game of Thrones") & Mathilda de Angelis ("The Undoing") and Steven Gaydos (Variety)

German Shooting Star is Albrecht Schuch ("System Crasher", Filmstiftung-backed "Berlin Alexanderplatz"). Among the ten European Shooting Stars, there are two other actresses who have appeared in Filmstiftung-backed international co-productions: Alba Baptista (Portugal) in "Patrick" by Gonçalo Waddington and Natasa Stork (Hungary) in "Jupiter’s Moon" by Kornél Mundruczó. Other Shooting Stars this year include Seidi Haarla (Finland), Nicolas Maury (France), Fionn O’Shea (Ireland), Žygimantė Elena Jakštaitė (Lithuania), Martijn Lakemeier (Netherlands), Sara Klimoska (North Macedonia) and Gustav Lindh (Sweden).

The Shooting Stars programme is supported by the MEDIA programme of the EU as well as by the participating EFP member organisations and other cooperation partners. The European Shooting Stars initiative has been in existence since 1998, and the presentation has been supported from the outset by the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW. Previous German Shooting Stars have included Emma Drogunova, Carla Juri, Louis Hofmann, Franz Rogowski, Alexander Fehling, Moritz Bleibtreu and Jürgen Vogel.

More information